Judicial Merit Selection Commission

Rep. Alan D. Clemmons, Chairman Sen. Larry A. Martin, Vice-Chairman Sen. George E. Campsen, III Sen. Gerald Malloy Rep. Bruce W. Bannister Rep. David J. Mack, III Kristian C. Bell John Davis Harrell H. Donald Sellers Joseph Preston Strom, Jr.



Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6623

Jane O. Shuler, Chief Counsel Edward Bender Daniel Boan Steve Davidson Emma Dean Patrick Dennis Andy Fiffick J.J. Gentry Jamey Goldin Brett Hubler Bob Maldonado **Brad Wright**

MEDIA RELEASE

August 8, 2014

Public Hearings have been scheduled to begin Wednesday, November 5 through Friday, November 7, 2014, with the hearings commencing at 9 a.m. regarding the qualifications of the following candidates for judicial positions.

Court of Appeals

Seat 5 The Honorable John C. Few, Greenville, S.C.

Seat 6 The Honorable Aphrodite Konduros, Greenville, S.C.

Circuit Court

4th Circuit, Seat 2 The Honorable Roger E. Henderson, Chesterfield, S.C.

Autrey C. Stephens, Dillon, S.C.

The Honorable Robert E. Hood, Chapin, S.C. 5th Circuit, Seat 3

9th Circuit, Seat 3 The Honorable Roger M. Young, North Charleston, S.C.

James C. Alexander, Marietta, S.C. 13th Circuit, Seat 1

The Honorable Perry H. Gravely, Pickens, S.C.

The Honorable Robin B. Stilwell, Greer, S.C. 13th Circuit, Seat 3

14th Circuit, Seat 2 The Honorable Carmen T. Mullen, Hilton Head Island, S.C.

The Honorable Benjamin H. Culbertson, Georgetown, S.C. 15th Circuit, Seat 2

The Honorable W. Jeffery Young, Sumter, S.C. At-Large, Seat 1

At-Large, Seat 2 The Honorable R. Markley Dennis, Jr., Pinopolis, S.C.

At-Large, Seat 3 The Honorable Clifton B. Newman, Columbia, S.C.

At-Large, Seat 4 The Honorable Edward W. "Ned" Miller, Greenville, S.C.

At-Large, Seat 5 The Honorable J. Mark Haves, II, Spartanburg, S.C.

At-Large, Seat 6 The Honorable William H. Seals, Jr., Marion, S.C.

At-Large, Seat 7 The Honorable J. Cordell Maddox, Jr., Anderson, S.C.

At-Large, Seat 8 The Honorable David C. Brown, Florence, S.C.

Jerome P. Askins, III. Johnsonville, S.C. At-Large, Seat 9

Debra J. Gammons, Daniel Island, S.C.

Tanya A. Gee, Columbia, S.C.

Ervin J. Maye, West Columbia, S.C.

William A. "Bill" McKinnon, Rock Hill, S.C.

William V. Meetze, Marion, S.C.

Timothy W. Murphy, Sumter, S.C.

Jocelyn Newman, Columbia, S.C.

Grady L. "Leck" Patterson, III, Columbia, S.C.

The Honorable Bentley D. Price, Charleston, S.C.

Robert L. Reibold, Columbia, S.C. Clifford Scott, Columbia, S.C.

Jennifer K. Shealy, Mount Pleasant, S.C. Gregory K. Voigt, Summerville, S.C. R. Bruce Wallace, Mount Pleasant, S.C.

David W. Wolf, Charleston, S.C.

Mindy W. Zimmerman, Newberry, S.C.

The Honorable James R. Barber, III, Columbia, S.C.

Family Court

At-Large Seat 10

9th Circuit, Seat 2 The Honorable John L. Duffy, III, North Charleston, S.C.

Spiros S. Ferderigos, Charleston, S.C. Thomas R. Goldstein, Charleston, S.C. Sean F. Keefer, Charleston, S.C. Paul F. LeBarron, Charleston, S.C. Jason S. Luck, Charleston, S.C.

Alice A. Richter-Lehrman, Mount Pleasant, S.C.

Paul D. Schwartz, Johns Island, S.C.

Administrative Law Court

Seat 3 The Honorable Carolyn C. Matthews, Columbia, S.C.

Harold W. Funderburk, Jr., Camden, S.C.

Seat 4 The Honorable Deborah B. Durden, Columbia, S.C.

Master-in-Equity

Beaufort County, 14th Circuit The Honorable Marvin H. Dukes, III, Beaufort, S.C. Calhoun County, 1st Circuit The Honorable Martin R. Banks, Cayce, S.C. Greenville County, 13th Circuit The Honorable Charles B. Simmons, Jr., Greenville, S.C. Horry County, 15th Circuit The Honorable Cynthia G. Howe, Myrtle Beach, S.C. **Orangeburg County, 1st Circuit** The Honorable James B. Jackson, Jr., Santee, S.C. Richland County, 5th Circuit The Honorable Joseph M. Strickland, Columbia, S.C. **Spartanburg County, 7th Circuit** The Honorable Gordon G. Cooper, Spartanburg, S.C. York County, 16th Circuit The Honorable S. Jackson Kimball, III, York, S.C.

Retired Judges

Court of Appeals
The Honorable Jasper M. Cureton, Columbia, S.C.
Circuit Court
The Honorable G. Thomas Cooper, Jr., Camden, S.C.
The Honorable Robert N. Jenkins, Sr., Travelers Rest, S.C.

Persons desiring to testify at public hearings shall furnish written notarized statements of proposed testimony. These statements must be received by **Noon, Tuesday, October 21, 2014**. The Commission has witness affidavit forms that may be used for proposed testimony. While this form is not mandatory, it will be supplied on request. Statements should be mailed or delivered to the Judicial Merit Selection Commission as follows:

Jane O. Shuler, Chief Counsel, 104 Gressette Building, Post Office Box 142, Columbia, South Carolina, 29202.

All testimony, including documents furnished to the Commission, must be submitted under oath. Persons knowingly giving false information, either orally or in writing, shall be subject to penalty.

For further information about the Judicial Merit Selection Commission and the judicial screening process, you may access the website at www.scstatehouse.gov/html-pages/judmerit.html.

Questions concerning the hearing and procedures should be directed to the Commission at (803) 212-6623.